©2019 by Association for Media Education in Scotland. Proudly created with Wix.com


Wendy is an English and Media teacher at Inverurie Academy in Aberdeenshire. She is currently undertaking an M. Ed at Aberdeen University. In her free time, she consumes a considerable amount of television. Her passion has always been genre TV and she is a lifelong fangirl.


Wendy Elrick

Des Murphy was head of English and Media at Bridge of Don Academy in Aberdeen, and  was seconded to Curriculum Support 10-18 Media Education for Aberdeen City. He is Secretary of AMES and editor of the Media Education Journal.

Secretary & MEJ Editor

Des Murphy

Robert was PT Geography at Inverness Royal Academy, but for many years also taught Media Studies. He retired from full-time teaching in 2003, but still retains an interest in Media Studies through AMES. He has been Treasurer since 1997.


Robert Preece 

Isabel is an English and ASN teacher at Inverurie Academy in Aberdeenshire. She adores exciting independent films and loves using moving image to develop literacy skills.

Committee Member

Isabel Sarran

Steve teaches Film Studies, Communication and Marketing in the Department of Creative Industries at Dumfries & Galloway College. He is also a piano teacher and has co-written music for several TV series.

Committee Member

Steve James

Catriona is an English and Media teacher. She is a member of the SQA NQST for Media.

Committee Member

Catriona Smith

Although now based in Edinburgh, Mary was formerly a teacher of English and Media Studies at Harlaw Academy in Aberdeen. She has been a member of the AMES Committee for a number of years and makes regular contributions to the Media Education Journal.

Committee Member

Mary Birch

Julie has been a lecturer in Media and Creative Industries at West College Scotland for ten years and a member of the AMES management committee since 2014. She is also in her final year of a Master of Research in Creative Practices degree at Glasgow School of Art where she is working on a multimedia electronic novel. She previously worked at SQA for six years in the development of Media and Communications qualifications and has continued to contribute as a marker and member of the Qualification Design Teams.

Committee Member

Julie Laing

Kirsty is a Principal Teacher, Faculty of English and Media who also contributes significantly to the SQA Media qualifications. She loves going to the cinema as much as possible.

Committee Member

Kirsty Brown

Lorraine is currently a lecturer in English and Communications at Dundee and Angus College, Arbroath. She previously taught English in the secondary school sector.

Committee Member

Lorraine Teviotdale